The Sundae Experience

vanilla icecream sundae topped with whipped cream, sprinkles, and a thorny burr instead of a cherry.

Image by Still Unique Photography

When I was growing up I loved, loved, loved hot fudge sundaes, especially the ones from Wil Wright’s Ice Cream Parlor. They were the absolute best! They had the perfect balance of real vanilla ice cream, rich hot fudge, fresh whipped cream, and, of course, the juicy red cherry on top. Not only did I look forward to the sundae, I also adored the little macaroon cookies they served with it. Each cookie was only a bite or two and came tucked in its own cute little red and white bag. I could go on and on about how incredibly yummy these sundaes were, but I think you get the picture.

Looking back at what a delight those hot fudge sundaes were, I can’t help but wonder how I would have reacted if the cherry was missing or the macaroons were replaced by little liver bites (yuck!). Would I have given it nothing more than a notice and turned my focus back to the pleasurable experience of tasting the whipped cream, hot fudge, and vanilla ice cream? Or would I have fixated on the missing cherry or the yucky liver bites and felt that the whole sundae experience was ruined? Or maybe a better question is, what would I do now?

If it were up to my ego, I would focus solely on that prickly burr on top my sundae where the juicy red cherry is supposed to be. I would think how horrible it is and how disappointed I am because I didn’t get everything I expected. I would not even notice the cute little sprinkles, the fluffy whipped cream, or the luscious ice cream. All of my attention would be on what’s wrong, completely ignoring the rest. My ego would continue to pour out the negative thoughts until they had spilled over the rest of the sundae, completely covering up all the good stuff, and most definitely ruining the entire sundae experience.

However, if I don’t let my ego take control, I can see the situation as it really is….. a yummy ice cream sundae with a silly old burr on top. The solution? I can just take the burr off, if possible, without giving it a second thought. Or, I can just ignore it, grab a spoon, focus my attention on the rest of the sundae, and dig into the good stuff.

I hate to admit it, but I can’t remember the last time I had a hot fudge sundae. Who knows what all those calories might do to my waist line, and how could any hot fudge sundae possibly taste as good as Wil Wright’s? Or then again, maybe it would taste better, even without the cute little macaroons.

Leave a Reply

