What Lessons are you Ready to Unlearn?

Image by Still Unique Photography

Image by Still Unique Photography

Unbeknownst at the time, as children growing up, we learned a lot of lessons. We learned them mainly from our family, but also from our peers, school, community, media, and culture. These lessons got buried deep within our subconscious and are often experienced as a long list of “do’s and don’ts” by which we live. It is usually not until later in life that we begin to discern and question some of these lessons. I have identified a few recently: (1) I am not okay; (2) I need to be and do what others want; (3) My number one purpose in life is to please, or at the very least, no upset others; and (4) I am selfish if I put myself first. (5) My worth and value is based on what I do. I have to admit it has been quite a surprise to not only figure out what these lessons are, but then to find out that none of them is true. And if I am really being honest, it makes me feel sad to think that I have lived my life by these untruths. However, no more! I am letting them go, erasing them from my list of “do’s and don’ts,” and releasing them from my subconscious.

So, what childhood lessons are you ready to unlearn?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. simplelivingover50
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 17:59:46

    There is never enough time for myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

