Are You Treating Yourself the Way You Want to be Treated?

Self Treatment

Image by Still Unique Photography

If I’m being brutally honest, I have to admit that I’m not very nice…. to myself. In fact, I often treat myself far more harshly than I would ever treat anyone else. When I take a step back and listen to myself, I hear all kinds of negative junk: judgments, criticisms, threats, put downs, and commands, to name a few. It seems as if almost everything I say focuses on pressuring me to do more and be more, implying, of course, that who I am and what I’m doing isn’t good enough. As you might imagine, living with this constant pressure isn’t working out very well for me. I realize that I will never be truly happy and at peace if I continue to treat myself this way. So, I’ve decided to take a completely different approach. From now on, I will treat myself as I would an honored guest in my home: with love, gentleness, acceptance, kindness, encouragement, and support. I suspect that this new treatment may feel a little strange at first, but I’m sure I can get used to it.

So, how are you treating yourself these days?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eyeontheuniverse
    Jul 09, 2014 @ 19:23:06

    For me this has two sides. Like you, I don’t assume that every negative seeming event is bad, as it may be a blessing. But that same logic means that each seemingly good event may in the long run be a curse.

    Reply

    • LyndaA
      Jul 09, 2014 @ 21:08:12

      Thank you so much for your comment. I believe the Universe is ever evolving in a positive direction and we, as part of that Universe, are too. Whatever happens, no matter how “good” or “bad” will somehow, in the long run, be used for our continued positive evolution.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

