Marco?

Sign:  Stay on the Trail

Image by Still Unique Photography

Marco?……silence.  SH**!

There’s a game we used to play as children in the pool called ‘Marco Polo.’ One person would be “It” and he/she would close his/her eyes and yell, “Marco”.  The other person or persons in the pool would respond, “Polo”.  The object of the game was for Marco to find Polo.  I must have really enjoyed this game as a child, because I seem to play it often, as an adult, in real life.

More times than I care to admit, I have found myself yelling, “Marco?” and hearing nothing but silence.  My heart sinks as I realize, “I’ve done it again!  I’ve closed my eyes and wandered so far off the path that I can no longer hear Polo’s voice.  I have switched pools and have no idea where I am, or how I got here.”  During these times, I find it best to first just sit down, right where I am.  Then, I remind myself not to panic; there’s plenty of daylight left. And besides, I have wandered off before, and I have always found my way back.  Like Hansel and Gretel, all I need to do is to retrace my steps until I find the point of my divergence. So, once again, I stand up, dust myself off, and take a few deep calming breaths.  Step by step, as I undo my erroneous thinking, I begin to find my way back.

“Marco?”……. “Polo”.  SIGH.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris Hollis
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 00:45:35

    I love the articles about your Love Car, the VW Karmin Ghia! 🙂

    Reply

  2. LyndaA
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 15:46:48

    Thank you. I keep a little model of my car by my computer to remind me to embrace my uniqueness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

