For Sale by Owner

Image by Still Unique Photography

Image by Still Unique Photography

Is there a big fat ‘For Sale by Owner’ sign plastered on my back? Yep, there it is! I thought I felt something weighing me down. So, it looks like I’ve put my self back on the market….again.

After a little chat with my real estate agent, it appears that I have been selling myself short. I’ve been under-valuing myself and under-rating my worth. I’ve been entertaining self-judgmental thoughts and comparing myself to others and coming up short of funds.   It also seems I’ve been selling my self off piece by piece. I have repeatedly compromised myself, to the point of sacrifice, in several areas. “When did this happen?” I asked. She replied, “Remember when you didn’t go to exercise class because your friend really needed to talk, and when, out of guilt, you agreed to work on a committee, and when you accompanied your sister to a Bunco party when you really wanted to stay home?” “Oh.” I said. According to my real estate agent, that’s not all. It appears that there is a sale pending and I’m getting ready to close the deal and completely sell myself out to the highest, or loudest, bidder. As I stop for a second to ponder this, a soft whisper flitters by, “Don’t sign anything.   You don’t need to change a thing. Where you are and what you do is just perfect for who you are. Your happiness resides is being true to yourself. So, before it too late, walk away from the deal, no matter how sweet it sounds!”

When I told my real estate agent that I decided to take my self off the market, she said, without skipping a beat, “Have you ever considered a short sale?”….. Don’t even go there!

Leave a Reply

