Dumpster Diving

Dumpster DivingI had known for a long time that there was a dumpster overflowing with junk parked in my head.  For decades, I’d been very careful not to get too close to it because it scared me.  It stunk and there were all kinds of nasty varmints living in it.  I came to the point where I couldn’t stand the stench any longer.  I knew that no one, including the Sanitation Department, was ever going to come and haul this rotting garbage away.   If I wanted to get rid of it, I needed to dive in and do it myself.

I’d heard stories from other divers that there is a treasure buried at the bottom of every dumpster.  They said it is a one-of-a-kind diamond, a perfect light in the shape of each person’s soul.  What is really amazing is that, despite the fact that it may have been buried for decades, they claimed that it hadn’t been damaged or diminished in any way.  They said that when you find it, and hold it to your heart, your eyes will be opened and all misperceptions would disappear.  So, with this added incentive, I wrestled past my fear, held my nose, and dove in.

At first, I was a bit overwhelmed at all the crap I found.  There were bags of beliefs based on fear, rusty projections, tons of gritty guilt and shame, slimy sacks of judgments, and greasy boxes of grievances, to name a few. But as I picked each one up and tossed it out, I could see a glow beginning to filter up from the bottom, so I kept diving.  A little deeper, I found moldy lies, rat infested insecurities, stinking bits of worthlessness, and rotten chunks of lack and separation.  Then, finally, when all the garbage had been cleared away, I found my light!  It was a beautiful glowing diamond, illuminated with such intensity that all illusions about myself and life vanished.  I saw myself as I really am: innocent, worthy, whole, and perfect, living always and forever in the Garden of Eden, surrounded by love, and filled with peace.

I highly recommend dumpster diving – if you really want to clear you head

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mewhoami
    Mar 21, 2015 @ 04:35:01

    This is an excellent analogy. I’m a little afraid to dumpster dive, but I can certainly see how it could be very beneficial.

    Reply

Leave a comment